Sir Elliot Master Limiter

Hi.

I would like to introduce Sir Elliot’s Master Limiter

image

Sir Elliot’s Master Limiter offers a pre-compressor to fine tune the dynamics to achieve the best quality in terms of sound when maintaining the levels within a certain decibel range.

Like the Universal Compressor, the Master Limiter is optimise to perform best on higher (88.2, 96, 192, 384 kHz) sample rates files however, will have no problem operating on lower sample rates such as 48 and, 44.1 kHz

The Master Limiter offers no delay, which makes it ideal for mixing in real time using digital production consoles that accept VST plug-ins and, Live Professor.

Power consumption is 3.5% using a 44.1 kHz wav file and, 8.0% on 88.2 kHz residing on a Pentium 4, 2.8 GHZ CPU. The concept of Sir Elliot’s Master Limiter is to achieve a loud master without your computer overloading during the process due to excessive CPU usage.

The video below shows how the Master Limiter performs on Rock Material driven to its limits.

Such levels are not my cup of tea. Having the continuous average levels offering – 6 dB will offer the best sound without any distortion. However, if you must know how loud the Master Limiter can go on Rock Music, this video will show you.

As with any audio amplifier, the harder the Master Limiter is driven the louder it will become with added distortion. I would imagine how much distortion one is willing to tolerate in order for a few extra decibels is solely on his or her judgement.

If you would like to use Sir Elliot’s Master Limiter, you are more than welcome to use it as long as you like.

Please visit the Download Section II or Section I

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Main Page, vst plug-ins. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sir Elliot Master Limiter

  1. manducator says:

    Hello,

    I have been testing this and comparing it with Voxengo Elephant, and I must see, it can hold up the competition!!

    • Sir Elliot says:

      Greetings Manducator!

      Thank you for giving my design a try.

      I’ve actually compared it to Fabfilter’s in addition to Voxengo’s limiter and Slate. Providing you rely more on your ears than trying to achieve all the lights on a meter bridge that offers a continuous average level indicator, you should be able to attain loud levels with no distortion.

      I would imagine the main difference amongst the three is the music material involved when you need a few more decibels.

      Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Sir Elliot Master Limiter, free pre-compresser effect plug-in for Windows

  3. Lovinab says:

    Hi,

    What interface and monitoring system you use to test your plugins?

    I’m actually on Mac but people like you, Bootsie and Terry West make me regret im not on pc anymore!

    I’m happy you came on wordpress now we’ll be able to communicate with you!

    Cheers,

    Lovinab from Perth

    • Sir Elliot says:

      Hi Lovinab!

      Thank you for the welcome.

      I don’t use monitors for they are just too limited for my taste. There appears to be two kinds of monitors available on the market. The first one is very loud with lack of bass and, the other is an ample amount of bass with not enough volume.

      My feelings may be based on decades of experience in the sound reinforcement market.

      Volume with a good frequency response is essential for my needs. This seems go against the philosophy of studio monitors designed in this day in age.

      Understanding how your loudspeakers perform is more beneficial than leaping from design to design in order to attain that perfect sound. Many seem to overlook our ears needs to grow accustomed to the sound of a new pair of speakers. This takes time.

      I use a pair of vintage 28-year old home audio speakers that are connected to a 30-year old receiver when examining the sound quality of my designs. These components are connected directly to my Dell computer.

      Since all of my audio computers are not connected to the Internet, all videos, tests and creations are created on the Dell computer. It is the only way I would be able to distribute my designs to the public.

      Cheers!

Comments are closed.